Home Write to the Editor
Biochemistry news, hot off the press Society news, hot off the press Conferences, meetings, seminars, courses Grants, awards Read or write one! Current edition of The Biochemist

24 May 2010

Society members inducted into science ‘Hall of Fame’

Three members of the Biochemical Society have been elected Fellows of The Royal Society of London.

Professor Ronald Thomas Hay of the Wellcome Trust Centre for Gene Regulation and Expression at the University of Dundee, Professor Ian Hickson of the Weatherall Institute for Molecular Medicine at the University of Oxford and Professor A R Lehmann of the Genome Damage and Stability Centre at the University of Sussex join many others of the Society as Fellows of The Royal Society of London, including the next President of the Royal Society, Professor Sir Paul Nurse.

Martin Rees, current President of the Royal Society said: “I am delighted to welcome these new Fellows to the Royal Society in what is a hugely important year for us. These scientists follow in the footsteps of early Fellows such as Isaac Newton, Robert Boyle and Robert Hooke. The new Fellows announced today embody the spirit of enquiry, dedicated to ‘the relief of man’s estate’ on which the Royal Society was founded. That spirit is as alive today as it was 350 years ago.”

Copyright © 2019 Biochemical Society. No part of this site including images and text may be reproduced without express written permission from the Biochemical Society
Biochemical Society Homepage More top news stories